Greg Hartmann advises clients on complex litigation matters in connection with sophisticated public-private projects. He is a trusted advisor with 20 years of diversified experience as an attorney, former government official, and a private consultant for Ohio government relations.

Greg, former Hamilton County Commissioner, began his career as a Hamilton County Prosecutor. He gained significant experience in the courtroom, handling hundreds of criminal cases in Juvenile, Municipal, Grand Jury, and Common Pleas divisions. After years of trial practice, Greg managed court operations and more than 330 employees as Hamilton County Clerk of Courts. He received Hamilton County’s Republican Elected Official of the Year Award and in 2006, was the Republican nominee for Ohio Secretary of State.

Greg's term as Hamilton County Clerk of Courts ended in 2009 when elected Hamilton County Commissioner. During his seven years in office, Greg started several initiatives including the Hamilton County Heroin Task Force, Higher Education Mentoring Initiative, and Hamilton County Coalition to Stop Fraud, Scams, and Abuse. 

Prior to joining KMK, Greg entered into private practice as a Partner at Shea Hartmann LLP. Greg serves on the UC Board of Trustees, UC Health Board, and the Lighthouse Youth Services Board.

Professional and Community Involvement

Cincinnati Bar Association

Ohio State Bar Association

Ohio Clerk of Courts Association

Ohio Chamber of Commerce

Cincinnati Community Action Now Commission

Catholic Inner City Schools Initiative

Ohio Reads

News & Resources




What is the best career advice you've ever received?
The best advice I received was to always have friends and colleagues who are of a variety of backgrounds and ages. If you only have friends your age you will miss valuable, unique perspectives that different vantages offer. If you have friends from the same background and life experience you will be boring. Nobody likes boring.

Where/how did you meet your significant other?
I met my wife of 27 years when we were both working after college in San Francisco. She was in photography; and I was running an airline commissary supplies business. I’m from Texas; she is from Indiana. 23 years later I have become a full Midwesterner and I love this community!

Where would we find you on a typical Saturday/Sunday?
On a typical weekend you will find me at a local golf course, weather permitting. I’m making up for lost time as we have 5 kids which kept me off the course during their younger years. Now we only have one child at home, so free time finally exists. When the kids are around I take them to play and often am humbled.

What is something people might be surprised to learn about you?
People would be surprised to learn that I am from a military family. My father’s dad was an admiral in the Navy which meant that he had no real hometown as duty had his family relocate often. In response, my father started a law firm in Dallas, Texas and has been there for nearly 50 years.


  • Ohio


J.D., Pepperdine University College of Law, 1997, cum laude

B.A., Washington and Lee University, 1989

Jump to Page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Functional Cookies

Functional cookies collect information about your choices and preferences, and collect information about your use of the Sites and Services which enable us to improve functionality.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.